• Biography

    Jacqueline Dumas’s latest novel is The Heart Begins Here, (Inanna Publications, 2018).

    Her previous writing experience includes two published novels: Madeleine & the Angel (Fifth House, 1989); The Last Sigh (Fifth House, 1993); a children’s picture book: And I’m Never Coming Back(Annick Press, 1986); and a one-act play, Secrets,whichwas produced at the 2013 Edmonton International Fringe Festival.


    She was born in Alberta and spent most of her working life there. She has extensive experience in the book business, including ownership and management of two Edmonton bookshops over the years, most recently Orlando Books (1993-2002), a progressive bookstore that specialized in post-colonial issues, cultural studies, feminisms, queer studies, and literature from small presses.


    When Orlando Books closed, Dumas went back to school and obtained a Master of Education in Teaching English as a Second Language from the University of Alberta. She has since taught English at Grant MacEwan University, the University of Alberta, and Dalhousie University. She has also designed and facilitated creative writing workshops and served as coordinator of the Writer-in-Exile program for the City of Edmonton.


    She moved to Nova Scotia in July 2013.



    • The Heart Begins Here (a novel from Inanna Publications, 2018).

      The Last Sigh (a novel from Fifth House, 1993)

      Madeleine & the Angel (a novel from Fifth House, 1989)

      And I'm Never Coming Back (children's picture book, Annick Press, 1986)

      Global Focus: Integrated Skills through Cultural Events Workbook (Oxford University Press, 2012)


    • Georges Bugnet Award for Best Alberta Novel

      Books in Canada/W.H. Smith Best First Novel Award shortlist

      Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal

      YWCA Woman of Distinction for the Arts

      Goldie Award for General Fiction finalist