Submitted by Annick on
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 1:40pm

The Writers' Federation of Nova Scotia is pleased to announce the shortlists and winners of this year's Nova Writes Competition for Unpublished Manuscripts. Categories include Short Creative Non-Fiction, Long-Form Creative Non-Fiction, Novel, Poetry, and Short Story.

So, without further ado: 





Short Creative Non-Fiction Prize

Winner: Margaret MacQuarrie, "How Was the Party?"

Shortlist: Barbara Cullen, "Willie Made Biscuits"; Jennifer Faulkner, "The Turquoise House"; Julie Strong, "Searching for the Madonna"

Long Form Creative Non-Fiction Prize

Winner: Muriel Schofield

Shortlist: Laura Churchill Duke, Two Crows Sorrow; Mark Haynes, The Last Sailor; Grey Murphy, Wild Cards

HR (Bill) Percy Novel Prize

Winner: Susan Walsh, Where the Lampreys Meet

Shortlist: Dorothy Redfurn, Sepia Stories; Nancy Waldman, Liminalis

Poetry Prize

Winner: J. Lorraine Campbell, "All Consuming"

Shortlist: Jon Saklofske, "Persistent Tensions"; Courtney Siebring, "Morning Rhythms"

Budge Wilson Short Story Prize

Winner: Mary Verna Feehan, "Two Crow Joy"

Shortlist: Cate Carlyle, "The Brothers"; Susan LeBlanc, "Change"

The winners of this year's Nova Writes Competition gathered with family, friends, and members of the general public on Thursday, May 31, at the Art Bar+ Projects in Halifax to read from their winning pieces as part of this year's WFNS Celebration of Emerging Writers. The ceremony also featured readings from the participants in this year's Alistair MacLeod Mentorship Program

Congratulations to all our winners, shortlisted authors, and participants! Thank you to the readers and judges for this year's Nova Writes Competition, and to the mentors in the Alistair MacLeod Mentorship Program.