Submitted by director@writer... on
Friday, December 2, 2016 - 11:19am

On November 30, 2016, as part of our 40th anniversary celebrations, the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) announced four new Legacy Memberships. This designation recognizes and celebrates members whose achievements to date—including their published work and other contributions to our writing community—have had an impact on our province’s cultural life and creative economy.  

Joining current Legacy Members such as Harry Bruce, Greg Cook, Susan Kerslake, and Budge Wilson are the new ‘inductees’ listed below. In future, four such memberships will be granted every five years. 

Silver Donald Cameron (D’Ecousse)
Don was one of the founders of the WFNS, instrumental in initial planning meetings in 1975 and on the inaugural executive following the formation of the WFNS in 1976. His body of work has engaged both our changing times and his own restless inquiry, and his longstanding support of the WFNS and its members have enriched a generation of writers throughout Canada. Read more about Don HERE.

Ken Ward (Halifax)
Ken has been an active WFNS member since 1976. His work as a writer (as well as visual artist and musician!), his role as an arts educator who has mentored students of all ages, and his leadership roles for the WFNS and the Writers Union of Canada in advocating for writers locally and nationally are the hallmarks of commitment, dedication, and passion. 

Sylvia Gunnery (LaHave)
Sylvia has been active with the WFNS since 1976. Her wide-ranging body of work, her commitment to arts education as a teacher, presenter, and mentor of writers young and old, her advocacy for writers locally and nationally, and her leadership and volunteer roles for the WFNS are a testament to her generosity and resourcefulness. Read more about Sylvia HERE.  

Sharon Gibson Palermo (Halifax)
Sharon has been a longstanding supporter and member of the WFNS. Her work as a writer, member, and volunteer, her tireless mentoring of young readers and young philosophers, and her ongoing service to our literary community, such as her role with the Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Award, have touched the lives and learning of many readers and writers. Read more about Sharon HERE