Submitted by Annick on
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 3:51pm

HALIFAX -- The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) announced the shortlists for the 2017 East Coast Literary Awards (ECLAs) today. Publishers submitted a record number of 79 titles by writers who reside in Atlantic Canada’s four provinces. And after months of reading and deliberation, peer juries of professional writers agreed on shortlists for each award in fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. 

The ECLAs are headlined by the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award. The Raddall Award’s $25,000 prize for the winning title makes it the most valuable literary award in Atlantic Canada. The J.M. Abraham Poetry Award and the Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award round out the program with a $2,000 prize for each award.   

Winners of three awards will be announced at a special presentation on May 31, 2017 at 6:30pm in the Halifax Central Library. All are welcome. 

The shortlisted titles for the 2017 East Coast Literary Awards are as follows: 

The Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award (first presented in 1991; valued at $25,000) 

  • Advocate by Darren Greer (NS)  (Cormorant Books)
  • The Witches of New York by Ami McKay (NS)  (Knopf Canada)
  • The Fortunate Brother by Donna Morrissey (NS) (Viking)

The J.M. Abraham Poetry Award (first presented in 1998; valued at $2,000)  

  • The Back Channels by Jennifer Houle (NB)  (Signature Editions)
  • The Unlit Path Behind the House by Margo Wheaton (NS) (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
  • You Can’t Bury Them All by Patrick Woodcock (NS)  (ECW Press) 

The Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award (first presented in 1978; valued at $2,000) 

  • Burnley “Rocky” Jones: Revolutionary by Burnley “Rocky” Jones & James W. St. G. Walker (NS) (Roseway Publishing)
  • Redemption Songs by Jon Tattrie (NS) (Pottersfield Press)
  • Notes from a Feminist Killjoy by Erin Wunker (NS) (BookThug) 

About the East Coast Literary Awards

The ECLAs strive to highlight the best in Atlantic Canadian fiction, poetry, and non-fiction through three annual literary awards. Titles eligible for the ECLAs must be the work of writers who are engaged in our region’s cultural life and creative economy as fulltime residents of Atlantic Canada. A peer assessment process conducted by professional writers from throughout the region determines shortlists and winners. The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia is the steward of the three Awards, all of which have been in existence for many years and were founded by several endowments, including significant support from the families of Thomas Head Raddall and J.M. Abraham.

About the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia

Established in 1976, the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia works to provide advice and assistance to writers at all stages of their careers; to encourage greater public recognition of writers and their achievements; and to enhance the literary arts in our regional and national culture.