Submitted by Annick on
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 3:53pm

Halifax, NS – The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) is proud to announce the shortlist for the 2016 East Coast Literary Awards. These three Awards celebrate the quality and diversity of writing in non-fiction, poetry, and fiction by Atlantic Canadian writers. The shortlisted writers for each Award are:

Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award:
Dean Jobb (NS), Empire of Deception (HarperCollins)
Marq de Villiers (NS), Back to the Well (Goose Lane)
Gary L. Saunders (NS), My Life With Trees (Gaspereau Press)

JM Abraham Poetry Award:
Phillip Crymble (NB), Not Even Laughter (Salmon Poetry)
John Wall Barger (NS), The Book of Festus (Palimpsest Press)
Sue Goyette (NS), The Brief Reincarnation of a Girl (Gaspereau Press) 

Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award:
Mark Anthony Jarman (NB), Knife Party at the Hotel Europa (Goose Lane)
Elisabeth de Mariaffi (NL), The Devil You Know (HarperCollins)
R.W. Gray (NB), Entropic (NeWest Press)

Awards jurors had the unenviable task of deliberating 69 submitted titles by writers from all four Atlantic provinces in order to select the nine finalists. Each year, the East Coast Literary Awards introduces local, national, and international readers to remarkable works written by Atlantic Canadians.

Full details of shortlisted titles and writers will be available soon on the WFNS website Winners will be announced at the East Coast Literary Awards presentation in Halifax on June 4, following a series of readings celebrating the shortlisted writers.   

Established in 1976, the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia works to provide advice and assistance to writers at all stages of their careers; to encourage greater public recognition of writers and their achievements; and to enhance the literary arts in our regional and national culture. 




Jonathan Meakin, Executive Director

P: 902.423.8116 E: