Submitted by Annick on
Tuesday, August 7, 2012 - 11:50pm

The Writers' Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) is pleased to reveal the winners of the 35th Atlantic Writing Competition (AWC).  These writers have emerged as prize winners from 114 entries and were judged by WFNS members and friends that have achieved significant professional success.  Judges this year were Susan White and Sue Carter Flinn, both winners of AWC in the past; Devon Code, winner of the Writers' Trust Journey Prize in 2010; Valerie Compton, currently shortlisted for the Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award; Jaime Forsythe, whose debut collection of poetry was published this spring; and Jan Coates, shortlisted for a Governor General's Literary Award in 2011.

The AWC is collaborating again with the Halifax Word on the Street Book and Magazine Festival to host the prize ceremony for winners of the competition this September. WFNS will also be partnering with new sponsors for the 36th AWC to add significant value to the long-existing prizes.  WFNS is pleased to announce that The Fiddlehead, Atlantic Canada's longest living literary journal, will be offering an editor's eye and insights on the winning manuscripts in the poetry, creative non-fiction and short story categories, and that Canadian Society for Children's Authors, Illustrators and Performers will donate a Blue Pencil Mentorship package to both the writing for children and young adult novel categories.

Past winners of the AWC include Scott Fotheringham, who saw his 2009 first-place winning novel manuscript, The Rest is Silence, published by Goose Lane Editions this spring, Ami McKay (honourable mention, novel category, 2004) and Anne Simpson (2nd, poetry category, 1996). WFNS is very proud of the springboard that the AWC provides for writers looking to advance their creative writing.  The deadline for this year's competition is November 9, 2012.  Congratulations to all who entered the competition this year and best wishes to those who enter in future years.

The winners are as follows:

The Young Adult/Juvenile Novel Prize

Judged by Susan White

1st Place: "Secrets of the Hotel Maisoneuve" by Richard Levangie, Dartmouth, NS
2nd Place: "Unobtanium" by Katrina Nicholson, Sydney, NS
3rd Place: "Juggling Time" by Judy Dudar, Halifax, NS

The Joyce Barkhouse Writing For Children Prize

Judged by Jan Coates

1st Place: "Callista, the Amazing Honey Bee, Tells All" by Patsy Clothier, Wolfville, NS
2nd Place: "Christmas and the Wicked Old Witch" by Jo-Anne Hemming, New Maryland, NB
3rd Place: "Monarchs" by Jo Shawyer, St. John's, NF

The Budge Wilson Short Story Prize

Judged by Devon Code

1st Place: “Concha’s Smile” by Ruth Morris Schneider, Baddeck, NS
2nd Place: “Peaches” by Heidi Harding, Halifax, NS
3rd Place: “Thalia” by Sara Malton, Halifax, NS

The Poetry Prize

Judged by Jaime Forsythe

1st Place: “Orientations, Syria” by Roger Field, Ferguson's Cove, NS
2nd Place: “Verve” by Maryann Martin, Halifax, NS
3rd Place:  “Comfort Me With Apples” by Sheila Graham-Smith, Middleton, NS

The H.R. (Bill) Percy Prize

Judged by Valerie Compton

1st prize: "Falling Ice" by Sasha Dence, Fredericton, NB
2nd Prize: "The View from Errisbeg" by Sheila Graham-Smith, Middleton, NB
3rd Prize: "To Opening Night" by Sarah Gignac, Halifax, NS

The Creative Non-Fiction Prize

Judged by Sue Carter Flinn

1st Place: "Pieces" by Crystal Vaughan, Halifax, NS
2nd Place: A Pillar Against Perfection" by Deirdre Dwyer, Musquodoboit Harbour, NS
3rd Place: "Divine Intervention" by Margaret Ommanney, Glenwood, NS


About The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia was established in 1975 and is a non-profit charitable organization committed to fostering creative writing and the profession of writing in the province of Nova Scotia.  Membership is open to anyone with an interest in and a desire to write.

Contact us:
Hillary Titley, Program Officer – AWC Coordinator (
Nate Crawford, Executive Director (
1113 Marginal Road, Halifax, NS, B3H 4P7
Phone: (902) 423-8116 Fax: (902) 422-0881