Submitted by Annick on
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 12:10pm

On Thursday, May 10th, Atlantic Canada’s community of writers came together in Halifax to celebrate the annual Atlantic Book Awards.

Paul O’Regan Hall at Halifax’s Central Library was vibrant with authors, community members, and other guests who gathered in celebration of the Atlantic Book Awards. This year marked the 10th anniversary of the event. 

This year’s gala was the culmination of a series of events, such as readings and discussions, held in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador to provide the opportunity for nominees to introduce their work and connect with audiences.

The awards recognize outstanding writing in fiction, non-fiction, and children’s literature, among other genres, in a total of 13 categories. Among the awards presented included the three awards managed by the Writers' Federation of Nova Scotia. The Evelyn Richardson Award for Non-Fiction was awarded to John DeMont for The Long Way Home: A Personal History of Nova Scotia (McClelland and Stewart). The J.M. Abraham Poetry Award was presented to Julia McCarthy for her book All the Names Between (Brick Books).  Oisín Curran won the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award for his novel Blood Fable (Book*hug).

The winners of each category were announced at the gala. The authors’ speeches were inspirational, with several writers emphasizing the importance of being honoured by peers, while others recounted the creative journey they took in order to tell their stories.

The evening ended with a reception where attendees had a chance to celebrate and talk over wine, appetizers, and, of course, cake.

Congratulations to all nominees and winners!

-Alicia Montoya, WFNS Intern